forgot password?
Program Awards

The Program Awards were originally established in 1981 as part of the WASSA Conference held in Santa Barbara, CA and presided over by WASSA President Norman Watt, University of British Columbia, and exemplifies excellence in summer programming. 
In 2004, in honor of Carol Switzer, Director of Summer Session at Arizona State University, as well as President of NAASS (2004) and WASSA (2001) and recipient of the WASSA Distinguished Service Award (2001), a special award category was created and has continued since.  Carol passed away in 2008, but the memory of her generous contributions to both WASSA and NAASS live on.
Today, the Programs Awards are presented and showcased each year as part of the annual WASSA Conference based on submissions from WASSA members in the categories of:
  • Best Credit Program

  • Best Non-Credit Program

  • Best Administrative Program

  • Carol Switzer Award for "Best Use of a Stolen Idea"
Guidelines for program submissions are available here (PDF).

Western Association of Summer Sessions Administrators
contact us